MIA News

Bourges joins Skopje and České Budějovice as 2028 European Capital of Culture

French city of Bourges has joined Skopje and Czech Republic’s České Budějovice as the 2028 European Capital of Culture.

According to European Commission rules, two cities from EU member-states and one from an EFTA/EEA country, a candidate country or a potential EU membership candidate are selected as 2028 European Capitals of Culture.

Bourges was the last city to be selected, with Clermont-Ferrand, Montpellier and Rouen also in the competition.

České Budějovice was selected by the end of June, followed by Skopje in September.

The European Capital of Culture title, a year-long celebration of art and culture, brings significant economic benefits and aims to stimulate cultural tourism.