Croatia on two additional TEN-T corridors, PM says

Croatia is on two more Trans-European Transport Network (TEN-T) corridors after an agreement between the European Parliament and the European Council: the Baltic-Adriatic and the Western Balkans-Eastern Mediterranean corridors, Prime Minister Andrej Plenković said on Tuesday.

“Thereby we are fully integrating Croatia into the European Union’s transport system,” he posted on X.

Last night, the EP and the Council reached an agreement on the regulation underpinning the TEN-T to encourage the implementation of the most important projects related to railways, roads, inland waterways and ports by 2030.

According to Plenković, Croatia succeeded in the having the regulation include the rail and road infrastructure to Split, in Slavonia, Ploče and Split becoming core network seaports, and Rijeka being on three corridors.

An additional 450 kilometers of railways and 430 km of roads, eight more ports and five more urban hubs have been included, whereby Croatia is achieving the biggest proportional change to TEN-T in Europe, Plenković said, adding that being on four EU transport corridors creates the prerequisites for further investment and infrastructure development in Croatia.

Adina Vălean, Commissioner for Transport said: “This is a landmark agreement for the EU. Europe needs a transport network that addresses the mobility concerns of our citizens and businesses, both sustainable and resilient, and that builds a bridge with our neighbors, in particular Ukraine, Moldova and the Western Balkans.”

TEN-T is the foundation of the EU’s transport policy and key for the functioning of the internal market. These more efficient procedures will step up its development and ensure simpler and more sustainable mobility for people and companies across Europe.

TEN-T has two layers, a comprehensive network which connects all EU regions, and a core network which consists of the comprehensive network elements with the greatest strategic importance for the EU.

The core network must be completed by 2030 and the comprehensive network by 2050.