BTA News

BTA to Livestream from 27 EU Member States about European Elections on Monday

The Bulgarian News Agency (BTA) on Monday will stage an event in which the agency’s special correspondents will come in live from all 27 EU Member States where they covered the 2024 European Parliament elections on site in collaboration with the team of BTA staffers in the newsroom back in Sofia.

The correspondents filed reports on special events before polling day and on election night. They covered the voting results in real time and approached journalists and analysts in the respective countries for comment.

BTA Director General Kiril Valchev and the Head of the European Parliament Liaison Office in Bulgaria Teodor Stoychev will open the event at the BTA National Press Club in Sofia at 5:00 p.m. Bulgarian time. The newscast can also be watched on the BTA Facebook page and simultaneous interpretation into English will be available.

The rest of the agency’s national press clubs in Bulgaria and abroad will join in by video link.

For a month now, BTA has been running election backgrounders on each EU Member State, the campaign programmes of the leading parties in each country, opinion poll results, results of previous European elections and expectations of the forthcoming ones. Odds and ends on the MEP candidates and their parties were published as well. The campaign in the countries was followed closely, with coverage of statements and messages by key candidates.

Reports and videos on the campaigns in the individual Member States were published in the run up to these first post-Brexit European elections.

On polling day, the special correspondents sent reports on Bulgarians’ voting abroad in Bulgaria’s simultaneous elections for European Parliament and National Assembly, complete with voter turnout, exit poll results and early returns.

All material on the European elections is available in a special section that can be accessed directly from the homepage of the BTA website. The section is divided by Member State with a digital map.

Here is a list of the 27 countries and cities where BTA covered the 2024 European elections on site by video, audio, pictures and stories: Austria (Vienna), Belgium (Brussels), Bulgaria (Sofia), Croatia (Zagreb), Cyprus (Nicosia), Czechia (Prague), Denmark (Copenhagen), Estonia (Tallinn), Finland (Helsinki), France (Paris), Germany (Berlin), Greece (Athens), Hungary (Budapest), Ireland (Dublin), Italy (Rome), Latvia (Riga), Lithuania (Vilnius), Luxembourg (Luxembourg), Malta (Valletta), the Netherlands (The Hague), Poland (Warsaw), Portugal (Lisbon), Romania (Bucharest), Slovakia (Bratislava), Slovenia (Ljubljana), Spain (Madrid), and Sweden (Stockholm).