First round of negotiations in 2017 for UN Security Council reform, convened on 6 – 7 February

First round of negotiations in 2017 for UN Security Council reform, convened on 6 – 7 February

The two co-chairs of the intergovernmental negotiations on the United Nations’ Security Council reform will convene the first round of negotiations this year in the period 6 – 7 February, on the five topics on the process agenda, Romania’s Ambassador to the UN Ion Jinga, co-chair of the negotiation process, announced in the informal meeting devoted to the reform process of the UN’s Security Council, taking place in Doha, in the period 14 – 15 January.

According to a press release sent to AGERPRES, the UN members will negotiate the working methods and the dimension of the Security Council, the relation between the Security Council and the General Assembly, the geographic representation in the Security Council, the veto right and the member categories (permanent, non-permanent and, possibly, the creation of an intermediary category).

Depending on the results of this first session, the two co-chairs, the Romanian Ambassador and his Tunisian counterpart, Ambassador Mohammed Khaled Khiari, will decide on the subsequent approach of the negotiations.

UN General Assembly President Peter Thomson, State of Qatar Foreign Minister, Sheik Mohammed bin Abdulrahman Al-Thani, UN permanent representatives of 36 countries, as well as independent experts from the academic environment participated in the event in Doha.

The meeting goal was that of capitalising on the current world context to facilitate a comprehensive debate on the modalities through which the efforts to reform the Security Council can gain a new dynamic, required by most UN member states.

According to the release, in his interventions, Ambassador Ion Jinga highlighted the importance of all UN member states assuming the Security Council reform, so much the more as the negotiation process is an intergovernmental one, and its result will have to be validated by ratification by at least two thirds of the member states, including the five permanent members of the Security Council. More…